Island Destinations · Travel Writing

Le Meridien Ile Maurice – What dreams are made of

One of the few trips that I took on my own is the one that will leave an indelible mark on my heart – one that I will never forget and that is the island of Mauritius. From the people to the food to the white sandy beaches, Mauritius is the island that draws you in and never lets you go.

Miwok
The island’s signature mountains – From Flickr: Miwok

As I flew over the huge landmass that is Madagascar I couldn’t help but bob my knee and tap my fingers on the armrest in anticipation, I could hardly contain my excitement. I was well on my way to Le Meridien Ile Maurice Hotel nestled in the bay of Pointe Aux Piments – I mean who could blame me?

7099310903_3bb23b8e31_k
The interestingly shaped island of Mauritius – From Flickr: Chuckas_McFly

As I stepped off the shuttle from the airport I was greeted by the stunning hotel of Ile Maurice. Not only did the hotel impress you with the grandeur of its presence but it was the subtleties that really made it spectacular. The refreshing cocktail and much needed cool face cloth as you arrive; the smiles and hellos from all the staff; and the romantic turn down with complimentary chocolates – it was the simple yet personable anecdotes that made my stay at Ile Maurice Hotel truly special.

AerialViewNirvana

Le Meridien Ile Maurice

With the many awards this hotel has won (5 time TripAdvisor Excellence Winners – 2011-2015) you have certain expectations which I can confidently say are without a doubt fully met.

NirvanaPoolBar
Nirvana Pool Bar

The cavernous but inviting hall is where your senses will be delighted by many different cuisines while you are captivated by the splish, splashing waters of the Indian Ocean a mere few metres away. There are absolutely no walls between you and the stunning ocean landscape, with nets over the openings (to prevent  birds from getting inside) you will feel like you are actually having a meal on the beach – and you can even do that for lunch, while lying on a sun lounger, under your thatched umbrella.

BeachView
Private Beach 

Be sure to try out one of their other restaurants at the hotel – La Faya, serving traditional, fresh Mediterranean food making it my absolute favourite restaurant at Ile Maurice!

LaFaya
My absolute favourite – La Faya Restaurant 

The room I stayed in was the Deluxe Garden Ocean View Room, and when it says “ocean views” that is exactly what it means – so close, you could taste the salt on your lips. From €195 a night (breakfast and dinner included) it is a fair price to pay for the positively luxurious stay you get.

Deluxe-Garden-Ocean-View-1
My room that I stayed in with an unrivaled view

The final and absolute highlight for me was the Catamaran outing which the hotel organised. Snorkelling in the crystal clear waters, being so close to dolphins you can (almost) touch them, eating delectable Mediterranean food and drinking equally delicious Mediterranean drinks, it was an outright amazing day.

duncan c
Nothing beats seeing the island from the water on a catamaran – From Flickr: duncan c

Only one thing that I must warn you about which you must please pay special attention to– listen to the locals and wear the bothersome sun cream and ginormous sun hat. The sun in this part of the world, as I found out, is seriously no joking matter.

Have you been to the beautiful island of Mauritius? Share your experience in the comments with us!

2aff28c44103054afda81e8039b382be_heart-3png-heart-clipart-outline-png_400-400Kim

 

2 thoughts on “Le Meridien Ile Maurice – What dreams are made of

Leave a Reply

